Kombucha – Stage 1

I’ve always wanted to try making my own Kombucha. When I have a few extra dollars I sometimes splurge while shopping and buy myself an organic Kombucha blend at a local health food store. But it’s pricey. So recently I decided to spend a bit more on a Kombucha Starter Kit instead which will in the long run save a lot of money. I bought my starter kit from http://www.culturesforhealth.com and their service was great. My package got here in no time!

Kombucha, like Kefir and Sourdough, is a fermented food, which means there are more health benefits. And from making my own sourdough I can readily attest to those health benefits! It’s amazing!

Kombucha is a beverage made from sweet tea where a culture of yeast and bacteria live in a symbiotic relationship. Steeped for 7-30 days, the final product has a fizzy zing, (like soda) and is chock full of B vitamins.

To start my Kombucha I used a Scoby. Did you know that “Scoby” is actually an acronym? I didn’t. It means: Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast. The dried, dehydrated scoby I put in my tea/sugar/vinegar solution is a living organism, home to the particular yeasts and bacterias that transform tea into fizzy Kombucha.

In this stage, the activating stage, my scoby is the mother scoby. The baby scoby won’t appear until several batches later. But I’m really looking forward to having my first taste of homemade Kombucha soon!

P1050878

Leave a Reply

