Blueberry Poptarts

Summer isn’t complete without blueberries. And since I had some homemade blueberry pie filling in my freezer from last year, which I needed to use up before I pick and freeze more blueberries, I decided to make poptarts tonight. When I removed them from the oven I was ecstatic to find that they hadn’t exploded all over the place, otherwise I would’ve had a gooey purple mess to clean. But it’s so incredibly hard resisting the temptation to eat them! Such a heavenly aroma! Ah well. If I can’t eat them now (I made them for a special breakfast) I can at least content myself with gazing at them.

Blueberry Poptarts

Pastry:

1/2 cup shortening or soft butter

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3-4 TB cold water

Cut shortening into flour mixture. Add enough cold water to make dough stick together. Roll into a 12″-16″ rectangle on flat, floured surface. Using a knife cut into 4 vertical sections.

Spoon blueberry filling into the center of each strip. Fold over. With a fork, use the tines to press/seal edges of pastry shut. If needed, dip fork tines in warm water so it doesn’t stick to dough and tear it. Sprinkle top with sugar if desired.

P1050570

Bake 10 minutes in a 450 degree oven. Lower temp to 350 and bake an additional 5 minutes or till lightly golden. Remove and cool on a cookie rack.

P1050576

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

