It’s a Heifer!

Wow! Today has been super busy. First I had my load of hay delivered, (and got all 150 bales stacked). And second, but most important – Fancy had her calf! Yippee! At 12:30 pm on the dot, her beautiful little heifer calf was born while we all stood around quietly watching.

 

P1040451

The membrane was stuck on her nose and she was wrinkling it so I pulled it off so she could breathe.

P1040452

 

 

 

 

Fancy’s face right after the calf popped out – it almost looks like she’s thinking: “Is that mine? Did I do that?”

P1040454

 

Baby was attempting to go out the door – or I should say scooting out the door πŸ™‚

P1040466

 

She kept tipping over every time she tried to get up so I figured I’d lend a helping hand

 

P1040474

 

P1040470

 

Mom and baby resting

 

P1040488

 

P1040486

 


P1040502

 

I’m so happy! My barn is stacked roof high with sweet-smelling, green hay for winter, and I have the cutest little heifer sleeping in the pen with my Fancy. It’s been a good day.

3 thoughts on “It’s a Heifer!

  1. Well done Fancy!! She is just beautiful!!! Congratulations to you as well, and a heifer to boot. Good way to start with a new milk cow.

    • Aw thanks Abby! She’s the cutest little thing ever and I just love the way she wrinkles her nose. πŸ™‚ We still haven’t picked a name for her yet since it has to be the right name. Fancy’s first day milking was better than I ever anticipated. She was upset that I stuck her in the stanchion away from baby, but after thrashing around a bit she settled down and got the hang of it and I got a whole 1/2 gallon of colostrum out of her. I’m so pleased. A few more times and she’ll get the routine. Oh and let me know when your Cora calves! Here’s hoping for another heifer. πŸ™‚

  2. I just came back here to see how much Fancy’s calf looks like Cora’s calf. It is shocking. Other than the fact that Dolly is a little darker they look a lot alike. I read through and saw also that they calved at exactly the same time. Uncanny! Hope things are going well for you.

Leave a Reply

