Bringing Fancy Home

P1040358I didn’t think any other cow could ever replace my Jersey. After all she was my first cow. But an empty barn stall and a vacant field just felt so incredibly lonely that I started hunting for a new bovine, knowing that the chances were pretty slim that I’d find the “perfect” one.

P1040359

Then I decided to call a friend. Last year I had gone out to her farm, West Wind Farm, to look at her Native Milking Shorthorns because they were kinda neat. Anyway, long story short, when I called her about a week ago she had a 3/4 Jersey 1/4 Dexter bred heifer for sale. So I went to look. My heart went thwump and sure, she’s far from perfect as she needs some training, but she’s as close to my perfect dream cow as any will ever be. She’s small (only 46″), has excellent genetics and is pasture/grass-raised.

P1040361All in all, I’m so happy and excited I’m fit to burst!

Welcome home Miss Fancy!

P1040362

2 thoughts on “Bringing Fancy Home

  1. Hello, my name is Abby, we spoke on the phone when you listed your jersey cow on craiglist. I am so excited to see Fancy in your pasture. When we were looking for a milk cow Fancy was on our list of choices. It was between her and our cow now, Cora. Cora has a fused teat and was most likely going to be sent to the auction barn so I knew that I had to bring her home. I can’t wait to see pictures of Fancy’s calf when it is born. Enjoy your new girl! Blessings, Abby

  2. Sure I remember talking with you Abby! Thanks for commenting on my blog πŸ™‚ Betsy was telling me a bit about your cow when I went to look at Fancy – Cora has a great home with you guys and I hope everything works out for you too when she calves. Oh yes! I’ll probably take tons of pictures of Fancy’s calf when it FINALLY gets here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

